Usenet Privacy and Censorship

By: Fast Usenet on: November 7th, 2010

Should You Be Afraid of Losing Your Privacy in Usenet?

The Usenet network connects computers across the entire world. Once an article gets posted to a group, it is sent out immediately across the Usenet network. That means any information that you post to any group can be seen across the world in less than a minute. This is what makes Usenet a great method of posting information quickly and easily around the world. It also makes a great method to send your personal information around the world at the same time. will never give out your personal information to anyone at any time.

We would suggest that you never post any personal information at any time to any group. Unscrupulous users could use your personal information if they find it. That means even putting your real name at the end of your posts could lead to problems in the future. Unless you want other users to be able to contact you via email or distribute your email address to others, you need to make sure your real email address is not entered into the settings of your newsreader so that your posts would not be associated with it.

What is Newsgroup Censorship?

Newsgroup censorship would be the act of reading one group and filtering out the objectionable material. The majority of groups in the Usenet network are open to the public. Anyone at any time can post their opinion. While these opinions are not endorsed by, we do nothing to suppress the personal expression of people’s ideas. Moderated groups are under a different set of rules though. A designated person called a moderator controls each moderated group. The moderator is notified when any new articles are posted. The moderator can at any time choose which new posts users will view and which posts will never go to the group.

How Does Fast Usenet Protect Your Information?

Usenet encrypts all posts automatically so any person intercepting your posts in the network will have to decrypt the post first. We also encrypt your username when you post, which means that users who read your posts will not know your username. Fast Usenet can decode your username at any time if needed. Fast Usenet will always continue to make sure your private information never is put on the Usenet network. We only ask that you don’t post your personal information at any time because there is nothing we can do to prevent that from occurring or reverse it in the future.